Onyango out

Uganda's Goal Keeper

Despite Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango and seven others being dropped from a 10-man list for 2018 Africa Player of the Year, Uganda still has chance to walk away with different accolades at the awards gala slated for January 8 in Dakar, Senegal.

For starters, Uganda is part of the three nominees for the National Teams of the Year alongside Madagascar and Mauritania who qualified for AFCON finals for the first time.

Onyango, who has not conceded any goal in the AFCON qualifiers, stands a chance to be part of the best starting XI of the year. FUFA boss Moses Magogo, who is part of the CAF Executive, also has a chance of walking away with the Ydnekatchew Tessema Trophy for the Federation President of the Year and Platinum Award.

In the men’s shortlist, reigning player of the year, Mohamed Salah, his Liverpool club-mate Sadio Mane and 2015 winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, have made the top three for the most prestigious individual accolade in African football. The awards will be handed out on January 8 in Dakar, Senegal

Previous articleBobi Wine: I can oust Museveni in an election
Next articleState House corruption units nubs official for taking bribe of Shs 50,000
Patrick Luwagga is the editorial director of cross-platform content for UGANDANZ. He works across the newsroom and with business partners to drive and develop ambitious editorial projects that include digital journalism, video, data research, polling, live events, and thought-leadership series that are supported by outside underwriting. As executive director, he is responsible for the creation of Political news section, prior to joining UGANDANZ, Patrick was the chief editor for the national weekly news magazine of Kasese Times. In that role, he covered several presidential elections, wrote and produced two television documentaries, and was a regular commentator on television and radio news programs. Patrick was born in Masaka and grew up in Kasese. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Journalism from Makerere University where he was a Knight Foundation journalism fellow.